Ein Werk von Joachim Schmeisser
ARTISTS

Joachim Schmeisser

Joachim Schmeisser is best known for his major photographic series he has done in East Africa – his iconic portraiture of Elephants – especially the Orphan Elephants at the Sheldrick Wildlife Trust in Kenya.
He started this project in 2009 – during a stopover on a trip to the mountain gorillas in Rwanda and the Hadzabe in Tansania. Everything changed once he found himself surrounded by these baby elephants and his short travel break turned into a wonderful friendship and terrific project. It is still ongoing even today and has become a matter close to his heart. 
Joachim Schmeissers intention is to show the beauty and uniqueness of our planet and to increase sensitivity for a topic that concerns us all. The series “The last Giants” is now supplemented with photographs of the mountain gorillas in Ruanda and the last rhinos in Kenya.
In 2012, Joachim Schmeisser won the prestigious Hasselblad Award for this work an in 2017 his book »Elephants in Heaven« was launched by the German Publisher TeNeues. His book THE LAST OF THEIR KIND by TeNeues will be published in Spring 2021.

Artist CV
YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Take a look at the second part of the "Elephants in Heaven" behind-the-scenes video! © Copyright 2017 · Joachim Schmeisser Photography · All Rights Reserved

Works

Selected works by Joachim Schmeisser
Werk: Morani

Morani

Werk: The Divine

The Divine

Werk: Bull with two birds

Bull with two birds

Show more

Installation Views

Get inspired
version="1.0"?> version="1.0"?>crossmenuchevron-upchevron-downcross-circle

Ein Werk von Joachim Schmeisser
ARTISTS

Joachim Schmeisser

Joachim Schmeisser ist vor allem für seine große Fotoserie bekannt, die er in Ostafrika gemacht hat - seine ikonischen Porträts von Elefanten - insbesondere der Waisen-Elefanten beim Sheldrick Wildlife Trust in Kenia.
Er begann dieses Projekt im Jahr 2009 - während eines Zwischenstopps auf einer Reise zu den Berggorillas in Ruanda und den Hadzabe in Tansania. Alles änderte sich, als er sich inmitten dieser Babyelefanten wiederfand, und aus seiner kurzen Reisepause wurde eine wunderbare Freundschaft und ein großartiges Projekt. Es dauert bis heute an und ist ihm zu einer Herzensangelegenheit geworden. 
Joachim Schmeissers Absicht ist es, die Schönheit und Einzigartigkeit unseres Planeten zu zeigen und die Sensibilität für ein Thema zu erhöhen, das uns alle angeht. Die Serie "Die letzten Giganten" wird nun ergänzt durch Aufnahmen der Berggorillas in Ruanda und der letzten Nashörner in Kenia.
2012 gewann Joachim Schmeisser für diese Arbeit den renommierten Hasselblad Award und 2017 wurde sein Buch "Elefanten im Himmel" vom deutschen Verlag TeNeues herausgebracht. Sein Buch THE LAST OF THEIR KIND bei TeNeues wird im Frühjahr 2021 erscheinen.

Artist CV
YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Take a look at the second part of the "Elephants in Heaven" behind-the-scenes video! © Copyright 2017 · Joachim Schmeisser Photography · All Rights Reserved

Werke

Ausgewählte Werke von Joachim Schmeisser
Werk: Morani

Morani

Werk: The Divine

The Divine

Werk: Bull with two birds

Bull with two birds

Mehr anzeigen

Ausstellungen

Lassen Sie sich inspirieren
crossmenuchevron-upchevron-downcross-circle